Week 4 Chicago Marathon Training: Travel Challenged

It’s Sunday night. I’m getting ready to turn in early, get some rest to start Week 4 strong. My concern while typing this is anticipating the obstacle getting my LSD run will be. I’m going out-of-town on Saturday. The area we will be staying, will be rural, and not my jam for a long run with the threat of wildlife encounters in the back of my wildlife phobic. I will be trying to do my long run before we leave. It will be a challenging week, but also a good opportunity to get quality rest and recovery mentally and physically and I won’t beat myself up over missed runs early in training…I won’t lose fitness from one week.

WEEK 4, DAY 1 3-7 MILE RECOVERY RUN & ST

A lot of thoughts going through my head this week. With leaving for vaca at the end of the week there is much to do on top of work and training. Wanted to go for a longer run since my miles are staying pretty low, but there just isn’t much motivation when I start at 5AM.

A little hard breathing, faster than I anticipated. 10:05 average pace, 4.1 miles.

Later in the afternoon I did a kettlebell workout 45 minutes.

WEEK 4, DAY 2 TRACK/SPEED

I really thought I would HATE doing track workouts. I have never consistently done them. Part of my goal this year is to get faster at my 5K and 10K pace. I feel like the speedwork serves so many purposes. While training for my marathon, I get to kill track workouts and building confidence at my 5K and 10K pace. In the humidity, I can imagine how excellent a race will feel this Fall.

Scheduled 25 X 200m at 5K pace with 1:00 minute recovery between intervals. I only squeaked in 18 intervals in the hour I had to spend at the track starting at 5AM. Do what I can when I can. I wish I had more time, but I have to do the training within the parameters I have.

WEEK 4, DAY 3 2-5 MILE RECOVERY RUN

Ok, my body feels like ASS today! I can barely keep my eyes open and it is now officially going to be a rest day. Epsom salt bath with lavendar it is.

As usual, day 3 of training falls on a workday at the gym. I always have 3 classes to instruct. One of which I perform with the class, which doubles as ST for me weather I want it or not. I regress my ‘level’ based on how and what my body needs. Today, I reduced intensity, had a great workout and so did my members. Strength training complete.

WEEK 4, DAY 4 3-5 RECOVERY MILES RUN

The humidity lately SUCKS! Oh it’s so tough to breath. Slowed the pace for both breathing and recovery my body needs so damn bad. Whatever the reason, my muscles just aren’t bouncing back this week. Probably a case of hormones too.

10:36 average pace, 4.21 miles. Followed by kettlebell (instructing) ST

WEEK 4, DAY 5 REST DAY

Woohoo. The rest day of all rest days. A trip to the spa. A light dumbbell workout followed by pool then hot tub. An afternoon 50 minute Reiki session…can I say interesting and amazing at the same time?! Then some walking, shopping, eating. Just a wondeful no-stress, worry-free day. Aaahhh.

WEEK 4, DAY 6 10 MILE LONG RUN

Again. The. Humidity. At 6AM, we had hoped it would suck less, but nope. Getting this run in was tough especially knowing in a few hours I would be on-my-way out of town to bask in vaca time off the grid.

10 slow 10:44 average pace miles (including walking in the pace) and it was tough. Dripping wet, sweaty, drinking every sip of Tailwind I had in 71* with 96% humidity. Gaawwwddd. I love summer, but my body doesn’t while running.

WEEK 4, DAY 7 3-5 RECOVERY RUN

Today, I ran with my Chihuahua for the 1st time ever. My hubby and kids cleared the trail of wildlife with the 4 wheelers and we trotted behind. Not a glorious run, definitely in the mountains with more altitude than home. Very slow. 11:12 average pace. 3.47 miles.

Overall, happy this week of ST and runs happened. Even if I boo-hoo-ed about them all week in the sufferfest that was.

Concentrate on the goal at hand.

 

Leave a Reply

