Week 5 Chicago Marathon Training: Surviving the climb

“The quality of your breath will tell you exactly what you need to know about your interior state.” ~Erin Taylor, Founder of JASYOGA

Continuing on my vacation which started ending Week 4 of Chicago Marathon Training I felt like the added rest I was going to get would equal me having killer runs in Week 6 coming up. Well, if that’s the case, it comes at the sacrafice of a super sucky Week 5.

WEEK 5, DAY 1 REST

I could have run today but time was spent with the family doing family things when they need to come 1st and take advantage of the moment and make amazing memories together. So, today REST happened. Without guilt.

WEEK 5, DAY 2 CROSS-TRAINING

Today, I wanted the family time. I wanted to be active. And we decided an adventure to hike would be a fun thing we could all do together. Plus–I love hiking. So we ventured to Mt. Magalloway! And didn’t see an ounce of wildlife. Tsk tsk.

19748814_10211237954919369_814204635470108569_n
Mt. Magalloway Summit

WEEK 5, DAY 3 REST/ST

Ok, my body is enjoying the “rest” day traveling home from vaca followed by having to work within hours of our return.

ST consisted of me instructing classes. Whew.

WEEK 5, DAY 4 3-5 MILE RECOVERY RUN & ST

Oh my goodness. My hamstrings are sore from hiking and probably ST too. The thought of not running strongly went through my mind, but this marathon will not run itself. A summer afternoon run it was. It was humid. No surprise. The surprise was the lactic acid in my stomach during this run that left me wanting to vomit. Such a struggle today. But done.

And…I had to instruct a kettlebell class following. Lucky me. But done.

WEEK 5, DAY 5 3-5 MILE RECOVERY RUN

Still sore. Still a hard run. Body is ready for rest. Pulled 5.05 10:40 average miles out of my ass. I score this run a 2 out of 10 for, with 10 being an outstanding happy run. Nuf said.

WEEK 5, DAY 6 REST REST REST

My legs will not take any more. Nice epsom salt bath, soaking and stretching. Foam rolling. A true recovery rest day. These hamstrings need it. By bedtime, my legs felt 80% better.

WEEK 5, DAY 7 LONG SLOW RUN 8 MILES

I am thankful. Thankful today is 8 miles and not 18. It is hot and humid. Body is feeling better but still just sluggish in this weather. 11:07 average with walking in there from time to time averaged in. Without walking, this run would not have been completed. Walking gave me just enough recovery to push through for a chunk. Ended up getting 8.47 miles.

The week of miles has made me hungry for a really good run. You know, the run where you feel tall, light and there’s a spring in your step? I think I’ll be waiting until the humidity breaks. My hamstrings were sore this week, beyond the typical 48 hours…which means I should have regressed even more at work and rested more to allow the recovery. Thankfully by end-of-week they were back on track. I’m glad I listened to my body, which was basically shouting at me, to rest on day 6. Mileage was a bit lower this week having hiked of running, but clearly my muscles responded to the change. Ouch. Sometimes when the going gets tough, you have to remember, the view is worth it at the top. Much like training. The training is the hard work. The race it the summit and you’re working for the view.

Focusing on my goal. Keep on keeping on.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

