Week 6 Chicago Marathon Training: The Last Week of Phase 1!

The past weeks, including this one, have been focusing on getting consistent and preparing for the days ahead that will basically suck. I feel mentally good about training. I value my rest days. I am able to work around my crazy schedule and bazillion workouts a week (all work related but I use to my advantage…two birds one stone).

The last week was rough. And this week times within my natural hormone cycle is when I feel gorgeous and strong and my runs just suck. I know it’s hormones and will pass. The challenge really lies with the combo of that and the damn humidity which is like breathing soup.

WEEK 6, DAY 1 3-7 MILE RUN & ST

Seriously. 85* out and muggy. Decided to drive to a nearby trail to catch shade and try to stay as cool as possible. This run would not have happened without the trail. Not that it was stellar and still not near the mileage I would like to have gotten.

3.29 miles, 10:23 average pace, 34:13. Overall, I felt pretty good as long as I paced back.

Also ST with kettlebell (class)

WEEK 6, DAY 2 REST/ST

This morning was raining and I originally wanted my typical day 2 track speedwork. Decided to sleep in before teaching a kettlebell class and planned to do track tomorrow.

ST Kettlebell (class)

WEEK 6, DAY 3 TRACK

Yay! Track! Really, I’m loving doing track workouts. Today’s workout was supposed to be 16 X 400m at 10K and 5K pace alternating with 2 minutes recovery between.

Managed 10 intervals during the 1 hour we had to workout at the track (needed warm up/cool down time). I feel good about the intervals and know I would’ve kept going if time allowed. I guess I should start trying to do more time at the track…but getting there before 5AM is just not happening.

WEEK 6, DAY 4 3-5 RECOVERY MILES & ST

Late start this morning, which left less time to get the run in. Had to peel back the miles to 4 in order to get back in time. Boo. I actually felt better today running. Legs felt good, breathing was fair. I was actually kind of happy. Even with the humidity. 10:02 average pace, 4.02 miles and my HR was 151bpm. This thrills me. I feel like it was a real recovery run and at a pace that was ahead of my recover pace. Aahhh. I needed that.

Kettlebell class today. ST!

WEEK 6, DAY 5 LONG RUN 10 MILES

Happy freaking Friday! Took this day by the horns and headed out EARLY in the AM for 10 miles! Not that I generally want to do this on a Friday morning vs. a weekend morning, but this week my BRB needed to go today and well, I definitely hold myself more accountable with my BRB is going.

10.09 Miles, 10:23 avg. pace. 1:44:57. Faster than the last 10 miler a couple of weeks ago on the same route. Probably because it was only 58* instead of 71*–still humid though 91% in fact.

I also mentally wanted this run to feel good and didn’t want to go into the negative talk zone where the run just snowballs into sucktown. Happy with the run today. Used my Huma at the 5 mile mark, which is typically good for me (every 5 miles). It’s time to focus on the Chicago Marathon course route and pay special attention to the aid stations and start syncing my training run fueling and hydration to it.

Thought during my run…’I want to do some hill repeats soon.’ <—Who thinks that during a long run?

WEEK 6, DAY 6 REST DAY

Full rest today. Rolled, stretched and pig roast! Yum. The only activity was perhaps the bicep curls of food on fork to mouth. Good day. I actually felt restless because I’m usually doing something.

WEEK 6, DAY 7

Met up with a run buddy for 4.13 miles on what I thought would be a cooler run, but turned out to be 73* and although the humidity level wasn’t as high as it has been days prior, the run itself felt sticky and humid. Glad today was a short recovery run. My run buddy today is a slower runner than I, which equalled a super recovery pace of 12:24 average pace, 51:12 minutes (we walked several times included in this pace/time) and it was just great company.

All in all a strong week of getting the runs in. Now the consistency phase is complete, the endurance phase will really gear up, miles increasing, intervals lengthening. It’s going to be a tough 6 weeks. During the hottest time of the year. Yay! I might melt into a gelatinous puddle. Ew!

I’m excited and feel like life in all aspects has this crazy good momentum going right now. Everything is falling into place nicely. It takes work, it doesn’t just happen, but it is paying off. Weeeee!

 

Leave a Reply

