Week 7 Chicago Marathon Training: Embrace the Tough Runs

Oh summer running. You make me question why I love running, especially when every breath feels like inhaling soup. Humidity. Sucks. Mostly the runs have been good, just tough breathing wise. The pace has been steadily slow and even then the effort seemed tough and had to slow down even more to allow “recovery” aka catching my GD breath.

Week 7, Day 1 RECOVERY RUN

3.29 miles, trail run, 10:33 pace 34:51. An afternoon run, which means it was crazy hot out and shade was the determinate for this run. Drove to a nearby trail and appreciated the coolness of the gravel vs. the radiant heat of pavement. Also, the shade was a reprieve from the sizzle.

Followed by a 45 strength training session (outside) sweating it out.

Week 7, Day 2 Rest

A track workout should have happened today…but like I said “should”. Opted to rest today instead. This week my schedule is off and well so is my body. Being a woman, I can track when my “shit” week will be energy wise and ta-da, that is this week. My body is in sloth mode and will probably kick back into gear in a couple of days.

Opted to walk today, 2 miles.

Week 7 Day 3 Rest

Again, nothing today. Yes, and I really don’t feel bad about it.

Week 7, Day 4 5 Miles

Christ! This run was so slow and it got done. 10:45 pace, 54:15 64* and 94% humidity.  I went nice and slow since my body is still sluggish. HR was avg 147bpm which is a nice recovery pace for me (although I didn’t need recovery). I just keep telling myself the fall running will be spectacular after all this.

Strength trained.

Week 7, Day 5 Rest

Strength training since I didn’t get out for a run. Hot and planned to cycle. Finally got home from work and decided I’d rather have fam time since they just arrived home from a trip. No guilt.

Week 7, Day 6 5 Miles

Woohoo. Did it. Worked 7-8am, got home, changed clothes and met my BRF to bang out some miles. The temps were kind of  cooler and still humid. Humid is pretty much the jam til the end of August.

10:28 pace, 52:57 forced the pace slower today to have it not be a struggle fest as tomorrow is LSD day and my BRF and I are traveling to the ocean to get a coastal run in for some sea breeze and cooler temps. Oh and hello, change of scenery! Nothing makes a hot run better than seeing some gorgeous sights.

Week 7, Day 7 LSD

12.09 miles along the seacoast again.  10:40 pace (included a couple walk breaks for drinking/fueling). The weather was supreme-o. My right quad…not so much. twingy (can’t think of any way to describe it). Every few steps my quad would “twinge” and I would have a momentary millisecond of weakness. A very mild buckle of weakness and it would pass. Not awfully painful by any means, more of a twinge and then post run ache. It didn’t get any worse (or any better) during the run. Definitely something to keep an eye on. Finding my grit for sure.

Summer running is definitely requiring me to get #ToughAF. I always run through the summer, just less times a week, not speed work, and definitely NOT long runs. However, I am proud of myself for getting it done and keeping the consistency knowing it is so much harder for me than winter running. Although, it’s much more pleasant to only wear a tank and shorts vs. a bunch of layers, hats, gloves, headlamp, and so-on. I guess there’s a price to pay in the peak of either season.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

